East Nusa Tenggara Province

East Nusa Tenggara Province

east nusa tenggara

East Nusa Tenggara (Indonesian; Nusa Tenggara Timur) is a province of Indonesia, located in the eastern potion of the lesser sunda island, including west timor. The Provincial capital is Kupang, located on the west Timor. The highest point is Mount Mutis of Timor Tengah Selatan, which is 2427 meters above sea level. It is the only province in Indonesia where Roman Catolism is the predominant religion. The province consist about 566 island, but dominated by the three main island of Flores Island, Sumba and West Timor, the western half of the island of Timor. The eastern part of Timr is the independent country of East Timor. Other island include Adonara, Alor, Komodo, Lembata, Menipo, Raijua, Rinca, Rote Island 9 the southernmost island in Indonesia), Sawu, Semau and Solor. After declaration of Indonesia independence in 1945, the eastern part of Indonesia declarated themselves as the states of East Indonesia by statute of staatsblad No. 143, 1946. The state was further included in the United states of Indonesia as one of the agreement of the dutch to transfer its sovereignty to Indonesia in 1946.

In 1950, united states of Indonesia dissolved itself into a unitary state and began to divide its region into provinces. In 1958, be the indonesian statuteof law, three province were established in the lesser sunda islands, namely Bali, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara Provinces. According to the law, East Nusa tenggara province includes the western part of timor island, flores island, sumba and other several small islands in the region. The province was futher  divided into twelve regencies.

In 1998, several regional governments expanded its administrative divisions under the new regional autonomy policy. East Nusa Tenggara province observed several expansion in its administration. In 1999, the new Lembata regency was formed after splitting east Flores Regency. In 2002, Rote Island was split from Kupang Regency, forming the new Rote Ndao Regency. The following year, Manggarai Regency was split into two and a new Manggarai Regency established . in 2007, the administration of East Nusa Tenggara province was expanded more by the establishment of new four regencies. Therefore, as of 2007, there were noneteen regencies and only one autonomous city (Kupang) in the province. The last sabu Raijua was established in 2010.

The population of East Nusa Tenggara Province was established to be 4,683,800 in 2010. The religious mix is atypical of Indonesia, with 91% Christian (majority Catholic, large protestant population), 8 % muslim, 0,6% Hindu and Buddhist and 0,4% holding traditional beliefs

Labuan Bajo tour